Smokey Signs With APA Talent Agency 


Smokey Robinson, the legendary singer, songwriter, Motown record producer and executive, has signed with talent agency APA for representation across all services worldwide.Robinson, born William Robinson, Jr., began his musical career as the lead singer and frontman of “The Miracles,” which produced several Top 40 hits including “My Girl,” “Tears of a Clown,” and “You’ve Really Got a Hold On Me.” In 1972, Robinson exited the group to launch a solo career. His own hits include songs like “Cruisin’” and “Being With You.” In 1983, Robinson received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, won a Grammy for his song “Just to See Her,” and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The Miracles also received a star in 2009.Robinson is also credited with contributing to the success of Motown and “The Miracles” was the first act signed by the record company. Robinson later became vice president of the company and is responsible for discovering Diana Ross.Recently, Robinson  released several standard albums like “Timeless,” “Now and Then,” and “Smokey and Friends;” released his first-ever solo Christmas album, “Christmas Everyday,” as an Amazon exclusive on November 11; and currently serves as executive music producer on the new Motown-themed original animated children’s series, “Melodia,” for Netflix. In 2006, Robinson was awarded the Kennedy Center Honor for his lifetime of contributions to American culture.


Smokey releases his first solo holiday album via Amazon Originals

Motown legend Smokey Robinson released this first solo holiday album Nov. 10 via Amazon OriginalsChristmas Everyday” features 10 songs, including seven seasonal favorites and three Robinson originals. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame member co-produced the soulful set with Adam Anders, best known for his work on “Glee.” Guests on the album include Take 6, The Dap-Kings, Mindi Abair, Trombone Shorty and Us The Duo, who had their own holiday album released Nov. 17.

“I was quite pleased when I was approached about doing a holiday album,” Robinson said in a statement.  “I love the feeling of Christmas…and these are some of my absolute favorite songs. Folks are going to be surprised by some of the arrangements.”

Robinson recorded the album in Anders’ home studio in Los Angeles.“We had a good working relationship and a great time,” Robinson said.. “We were both very open to each other’s creativity. I’d give him a song idea and the key I wanted to sing it in, he’d do a treatment and then we’d work side by side to buff it to perfection.” While this is Robinson’s first solo holiday offering, he previously released two holiday albums with his former group, The Miracles, including the now Christmas classic, 1963’s “Christmas with The Miracles.”  In fact, the new album takes its name from a song originally included on that set.

In addition, don’t miss Smokey’s appearance along with Jimmy FallonThe RootsCommon and Andra Day who will be among the stars celebrating at Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in New York City on November 23rd.

“Christmas Everyday” tracklist:

1. “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” (feat. Trombone Shorty)
2. “This Christmas”
3. “The Christmas Song”
4. “White Christmas”
5. “Silent Night” (feat. Mindi Abair)
6. “The Night That Baby was Born”
7. “Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home)”
8. “Christmas Everyday” (feat. Us The Duo)
9. “You’re My Present” (feat. The Dap Kings)
10. “O’ Holy Night” (feat. Take 6)